Rehab in no particular fucking order -programming?

I have a limited understanding of programming, and had only done SS and TM before my back injury returned.

Ignoring the whole L4/L5 and L5/S1 bulging disks, I’ve been doing rehab for 8 months that’s scaled up from 20 mins light stretching and an hour’s walk to the following 4/5 times weekly. This workout was taking close to 2 hours when I could get all of it in. Unfortunately, work and professional exams started to eat into gym time, so I cut sets and “accessory” work.

Stretching and foam rolling – concentrating on thoracic spine and lumbar spine, posterior chain and hip flexors.

  • External rotation 20@4kg by 3
  • Bridge – One foot on large exercise ball- 3×20
  • Stabilization plank with leg raise on ball 3×20
  • Front plank with alternating leg and arm lifts – 90 seconds
  • Side plank with leg lift – 120 seconds
  • Pistol squats 3×10
  • Lunges 10×10@10kg
  • High bar Barbell squats 10@60kg x 3
  • Superman holds 60 seconds x3
  • Neutral grip chins 3×10
  • Narrow dips 3×10

I generally alternated lunges and barbell squats, and chins/dips ABAB.  I foam rolled every day, and also did the planks and low back stretching every day.

The above list is where I should be, but the standing desk reduced my pain to the point where I ignored rehab for 3 weeks. So, now it hurts again, and I have to take this shit seriously. At the moment, I am not barbell squatting because of hip pain and fatigue while I adjusted to the standing desk. I seem to have healed up and am going to restart squatting from the bar.

Question for the ripped dudes that browse:

How should I programme the above to make the most of my limited time? Is there anything I should add in? Physio told me to stay away from 1-5RM and focus on 8-12 rep ranges. There is a lot of volume above, and I found recovering from it difficult with work My sleep is generally good, and my diet is clean. I’ve dropped from a chubby 86kg at 6’0/34″ waist to a 77kg and 32″ waist. I have visible abs, at least. Small victories and jellydick weights.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Rehab in no particular fucking order -programming?

  1. “Question for the ripped dudes that browse:”

    Answer from Fatman: fit the above program into 60 minutes or less. Minimize rest times, you can pretty much superset the whole first part:

    External rotation 20@4kg by 3
    Bridge – One foot on large exercise ball- 3×20
    Stabilization plank with leg raise on ball 3×20
    Front plank with alternating leg and arm lifts – 90 seconds
    Side plank with leg lift – 120 seconds

    Subtotal: 15 minutes tops

    Then Part 2: reduce lunges to 3 sets, giving you a total of 18 sets. Take 1 – 1.5 minutes between sets:

    Pistol squats 3×10
    Lunges 10×10@10kg
    High bar Barbell squats 10@60kg x 3
    Superman holds 60 seconds x3
    Neutral grip chins 3×10
    Narrow dips 3×10

    Subtotal: 35-45 minutes at most.

    TOTAL: 50-60 minutes.

    Volume is good and you seem to be covering most of the bases. Have you been cleared to BB squat with bulging discs? If all you care about is leg size, you can comfortably ditch BB squats and do Bulgarian squats with/without weights instead.

    1. Thanks man. Improving my work capacity by cutting rests, even by 10 seconds a session, would help get this under an hour.

      The unilateral movements are to bring my weaker right side up to speed with my left. I had done bulgarian squats in the past with good results. I’ll see about subbing out lunges and pistols for bulgarian squats.

      Physio cleared me for BB squats, but said to drop them if I had any pain.

  2. “Programming” is pretty much just the method by which you ensure that the workload is enough to elicit an adaptation response, but not too much to over do things.

    In your case, you have your exercises, and, with most of them, progression isn’t needed. The other loaded exercises, it looks like you should be able to add weight slowly, and linearly.

    For maximizing your efficiency, Fatman’s scheme looks pretty good, and has the added benefit of keeping you sweating. Really, your only other options are dropping an exercise, or finding one exercise that does what several of your current exercises do. For instance, if you started doing Bulgarian split squats, you could probably drop pistols and lunges, because, while the pistols primarily train your quads, and lunges your posterior, Split squats are more balanced in their effects. (Unless there are other reasons you’ve chosen those two unilateral leg exercises, in which case, carry on.)

  3. i’m glad fatman and wo had coherent responses for you. it’s totally out of my domain of “expertise.” i can pray for your speedy rehab. oh and make obnoxious comments on your other blog posts. that’s about it. sorry man, and good luck.

  4. When I was rehabbing my back (thought it was bulging/herniated discs but ended up being most likely scoliosis) I started with lunges using dbs and progressed to 20 rep bb squats. And basic rehab stuff about planks although avoiding supermans as the chiro said they could/would put unnecessary stress on the spine.

Leave a Reply

