Sour and underseasoned

We’re on a food kick. I make about 2kg of chilli in a crockpot every week for vittles. 

Chilli’s composed of roughly:

  • 1 large onion
  • 4 cloves garlic, garlic powder
  • 800g 80:20 beef mince
  • 500g chickpeas + 500g kidney beans, in 4 cans total.
  • Paprika, chilli, parsley, oregano siracha hot sauce.
  • 2 cans chopped tomatoes
  • crumbed 81% cocoa dark chocolate
  • large bag spinach

Bung it all into crockpot on low for 8 hours. 

Total cost €8.50, about €1 per serving.

I get about 8-10 large servings, and it doesn’t need a carb on the side, so it’s great for lunch boxes. Great on rice though, with sour cream and strong cheddar over it.

I don’t brown the mince or onions any more, I just fuck it into the pot before I sleep. Then I mix in a large bag of spinach at the end and leave the spinach to wilt.

_

 My other stock dish is shchi or borscht and rye/ buckwheat kasha. This is a Russian WW1 recipe. 

Shchi/borscht

  • 1 large onion, diced. Fry the onion for borscht.
  • 4 cloves garlic, garlic powder
  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 1 large white cabbage roughly chopped or 800g sauerkraut, or both.
  • Add white vinegar and pickle juice if you use fresh cabbage.
  • Two beets, chunked. Add 2 more beets, and half the cabbage for borscht.
  • 400g fatty stewing beef diced, or 400g pork with bones.
  • Parsley, bayleaf, black pepper, dill.
  • Over the top when serving: creme fraiche/greek yogurt/smetana (any creamy dairy product over 20% fat works)

Again, crockpot on low for 8 hours, or an hour on the stove, and leave warm in the pot for the afternoon.

Total cost €7-8, about 5-7 large servings, so roughly €1.4 a serving. It needs a little time to ferment, and is better the day after.

It’s less filling than the chilli, but it’s more delicious, so it goes quicker. It needs a carb, so I eat it with roast buckwheat groats boiled into a porridge (kasha). I also make a dense rye loaf from a WW2 recipe using baking powder. 

My other dishes are a pseudo-Japanese salmon donburi bowl, a West-African sweet potato peanut curry, a few Indian dishes, and pork shoulder/hock done in honey and balsamic vinegar. When it’s in season, I make a nettle and pea soup that’s Great Famine-tastic. Could be another post on them though. 

_

I love cooking and finance, so I was the only dude in our school to do Home Economics in secondary school. I used to make stuff in class and sell it on lunch breaks. It definitely taught me life skills like budgeting, cookery, nutrition and sewing. Then I had Scouts covering the other skills like home repair, gardening, bike repair, firelighting, emergency response and camping. Totally masculine, which balanced out to about 60% homosexual sissyfag. Covering my bases at least. 

But my girlfriend doesn’t like my cooking, she says it’s all sour, soupy, earthy foods that are underseasoned. I don’t want to knock ability her in the slightest – she’s been on TV cookery shows – but we have different tastes. I wonder if people’s tastebuds have been ruined by overseasoned and oversalted foods, because I find boiled and fresh vegetable pretty flavoursome.

Maybe I’m just a terrible cook.

Maybe I’m just a freak, as usual.

2 thoughts on “Sour and underseasoned

  1. Lol’d at great famine-tastic. I don’t know what your gf is like so this isn’t directed at her tastes, but I find a lot of people are trying to be foodies in the last couple of years, almost more as a reaction to shit family meals than because of a genuine belief or interest. And as a result they go too far the other way, hence salting everything too much, eating meat that’s almost too rare (or at least rarer than they actually like, but won’t admit it). If veg tastes good at your level of seasoning then that’s all that should matter.

    Also my slow cooker bowl got a crack in it and I was too scared to use it again cause of a horror story I read online of sliced tendons and surgery, probably for the best. I miss slow cooker chili though.

  2. Bby,

    Food is overwhelmingly shit in Irish homes. I was spared the worst of it, but some of my mates will only eat breaded chicken and roasts without vegetables. Then others are no-carb fascists. Where is the middle ground? One came back from Thailand to complain that it was just “rice and vegetables”, then shovels crappy €5 carvery dinners into himself in work.

    Have you tried any Vietnamese restaurants in Dublin? We should meet for pho or banh mi near Parnell Street.

Leave a Reply

