Return on Investment

One repeat exam out of the way. Another 4 in a month’s time. This one went a lot better than the original exam in March – I was prepared and had the cripple supports I need. So good return on the €50 I spent repeating.

It also struck me that I can’t write for more than a few minutes at a time, and typing is also getting painful. I definitely blame this on overusing the computer for video games/anime when I get home. Haven’t a lot of spare time or energy at the moment, so my time goes on what’s easiest, and gives consistent fun per hour. But the decreased functionality and increased pain are negative externalities not reflected in the ROI formula for the PC. 

This isn’t sustainable, so I’ve been doing shit around the house, like repairing holes in the drywall, making fly traps, polishing and fixing shoes, and making sourdough rye bread to try and keep off the computer. I figure I have to be able to do these things myself down the line, even if only to teach them to my kids. 

My buddy got me a Husqvarna hand axe as a late birthday present- he said it was probably the most “me” gift ever – something that was seemingly frivolous, but borderline useful. We had two hatchet heads fly off their handles during camping trips last year. I figure it’s worth a few bob to have, even if it gets used a dozen times a year for 5 years. If the Happening happens, and gas gets cut off, it’d be worth having a axe for a wood stove.

Because I’m living in the city, I went on a perfectly normal, perfectly healthy 10k cycle in the park with a hatchet in my bag. I went to an isolated part of the park early in the morning, shooed off the deer, walked across a stream, and chopped some softwoods and hardwoods. It’s definitely better on the beech and ash than then crap we brought before. We are heading into Autumn, and there were some very large gilled bracket fungus on a live tree. The total diameter was about 20″. Might try ID it next weekend if it’s still there.

Began writing another short story too. This is a little less mopey. It’s about a young emigrant living in an totalitarian state that controls his country. He tries to reconnect with his roots, while adjusting to the big city. It might be a magical realism story where he and his people were primitives who practised pyromancy and human sacrifice in a great swamp, but most people emigrated for an easier life in the cities, where they formed an underclass. The protagonist would be part of a government programme to educate, accommodate and include heretics of the great swamp in developed society. 

However, the depressing China story for Fatman started as a cyberpunk story, where an ex-ganger has to work for a corporation to support his girlfriend, who has become addicted to cyberspace. That got edited out, because I think people’s eyes glaze over when they read cyberpunk cliches. “Cyberpunk” fiction is dead anyway, fuck it. We’ll see how it turns out on the first draft.

_

Exercise was shit all weekend, bar two 10k cycles. Didn’t have that much pain, but had to take difene and valium Saturday to sleep. Felt weak and lethargic Friday to Sunday.

Monday:

2×20 one leg bridge on stability ball

2×20 leg raise on ball

2x1min bird dog static hold

2×10 lying leg raise 

3×10 lunges @ 2kg

3×10 BW squats

front plank – too much neck pain

1×4, 1×3 chin ups with static hold/slow negative

RC/Shoulder retractions 2×10@2kg

prone cobras – 10 secs each position

Felt strong during the workout, but squats were very shaky. Finding it hard to keep torso upright while barefoot. Might try it with WL shoes to get some mobility back. Left trap and neck tight during the afternoon.
One thought on “Return on Investment

Leave a Reply

