Feeling burned out all this month. Went into Google to talk to people about a job there last week. Lunch was fabulous. Gym and pool quality. But wasn’t feeling the corporate stuff. HR woman I was talking with described it as “adrenalized”, and how she balanced her work and life by doing three eight hour days, then two eight hour days. The sales guys I was talking to said similar pressures on them. Most people on their teams only stayed a year before leaving. I’m not interested in that environment in the moment. I will not be applying for Google.  I guess I’m still burned out from big 4.

Did not complete the 50k words for Nanowrimo about the civil servant pyromancer. But going to continue writing it once I feel less wrecked. Pain has been good, never really going over a 2 or 3.

Business doing tech support is going well. Doing one day a week for €20/ hour. Also teaching the school principal’s son, who has autism, more about computers. It’s fine. About 8 of their 16 desktops are 10+ year old,  still running XP, with CPU clockspeeds about 2Ghz, and 1GB of RAM. Still using CRT monitors. It’s amazing they’ve kept going this long. Their components will probably all fail with a few weeks of each other. Hard drives have a median life of about 6 years, and these are pushing 12 years of daily use. That’s about a 12% annual fail rate, but nothing has gone yet. Yet.

I also maintain 16 laptops, which are reasonably OK.

The “cleaning” process goes as follows:

  1. Check bootup time. Check memory useage with Task Manager to get a baseline, see how many processes are running.
  2. Install and run CCleaner.
  3. Go into System on the Control Panel and disable all the appearance settings.
  4. Run msconfig and stop all the bloat running at startup. Disable some processes. Uninstall crappy programs. Put Adblock of some fashion on their browser of choice.
  5. If there is malware running, install Malwarebytes and let it run.
  6. Restart – check boot time and memory useage.
  7. Finally, remove all traces of the programs I use.

I usually get a boot that’s 40-50% faster, and much more responsive with tasks. They seem to be very satisfied. I’ll be starting a physical clean of the computers next week. The principals’ son seems to enjoy it. Hopefully it keeps up, as the money is very helpful. Once I finish, I’ll see if they can recommend me to another place.

I also do repairs and cleaning for staff members on their old laptops, which is a bit of extra money while I run the procedure on school computers.  I’ve thought about advertising. Unfortunately, the younger ones throw out their electronics when they slow down, or use tablets. So business will probably dry up long term.

Computer science is OK. I’m not that keen on programming, and I prefer working with databases to the pleb-tier Java I’m learning. Getting to some sweet conferences though. Fucking amazing scones with cream and coffee. Wherever I end up working, I want to go to conferences and training sessions with free food.

Finished the RG RX-78-2 Gundam. The RG is probably my favourite model kit ever. The engineering is amazing, particularly when set against the HG Zaku II.  The panels are great. The colour separation is great. The articulation is impressive. I didn’t fuck anything up while making it, and took a lot of time with nubs. It doesn’t have great amount of play value though: some small parts do pop off. The shoulder armour sections in particular are loose by design.

I am going to be a fag, and make a weights room for the plamo. It will be hella gay.

9 thoughts on “

  1. So CCleaner is legit? I have the free version and run it sometimes, my computer is still crap. Also the free version of Malwarebytes. Will these help, or should I buy the full version?

    1. All those will help. Do create system restore point before running them. Maybe recent backups if you have anything you don’t want to lose.

      You’ll never add more resources to a computer with programs, but you can definitely speed it by following the steps above.

      What’s your system like?

      1. “What’s your system like?”

        My home comp is one of those PoS notebook thingies (got it for free, so not complaining). 1.67G processor, 2GB RAM. So I guess it isn’t that bad compared to the comps you have to fix.

    2. i feel good because UG’s process is pretty much what I do. CCleaner and malwarebytes are good. Free versions. I use the free MSE for virus scan which is free too.
      also this option may not be for everyone, but if a computer is fucked I don’t mess with system restore, just reload the os from the manufacturer’s disk. On my own PC I’ve made a list of all the little changes I made and programs I’ve installed so that if I have to reload, I can just run down the list and reinstall/config everything. And I have to agree with Celica about Linux. I prefer Windows, but if you don’t have any particular software that needs it to run, and you have a shitty computer and no OS disk, Ubuntu (or Lubuntu for real clunkers) are the way to go. Not that hard.
      also, backup daily with Cobian Backup.

Leave a Reply

