Cumming out of retirement

I am going down the engineering path in the end. Applied for a system administration/network engineering job this Monday after a week of research, got an interview for Thursday, and got an offer that afternoon. Job starts 10 days later.

I knew there was big demand, but didn’t think they needed to hire people that badly. The salary is 30% higher than in big 4, has more generous benefits and expenses, and also pays overtime. It’s a small company that has the best-in-field engineers on our small island. So hopefully I will be learning a lot from them. I’ve always liked interviews, and prepared well for this one. I felt genuinely excited going in, and was immediately enthused to see servers being junked on the doorstep. The staff were mostly young, with bikes behind their desks. They all looked pretty swole. I noted with pleasure that they said I’d be a good fit with the rest of the staff. I can’t wait to have a possible threeway TCP handshake jerkoff with ripped nerds.

The job required driving out to client site. I can’t drive yet.  I need to pass 12 government lessons, followed by a driving test, to get my full license. I said that wouldn’t be a deal breaker, as I cycled about 150km a week, and most of their clients were close to my home. Easily within cycling distance. As they mostly work on the software side, the boss said he took his motorbike to clients.  I thought not being fully licensed might be a dealbreaker, but phrased it in a way that emphasized my willingness to learn and youthful energy. Strangely, they said this suited them, as it would give me a few months to train up in their VOIP Telephony and virtualization team.

I then met with one of Ireland’s big names in VOIP telephony, who said I’d be working under him. Really great talking to them.

My only concern is finishing the course, gaining some experience, and not getting raped with overtime. Been “retired” for 5 months. Last year, between sick leave, unemployment and study leave, I really only worked 6 months in 2014. I like these “mini retirements”. I think I would like to have these “mini retirements” throughout my life.

Since the last post, I also joined a “hackerspace” where sysadmins, engineers and software developers rented a warehouse and build/hack/make shit. Learned to stickweld. Planned a few electronics projects. Picked up some tips for sysadmin work. It was really fun. They had built a pizza oven. The pizza was great.

Gundam models have not arrived. Pushing 6 weeks now. The staff said it could be up to 3 months.

Ordered some east German NBC-protection suits for a S.T.A.L.K.E.R. cosplay. I really like the S.T.A.L.K.E.R games, but had seen the Tarkovsky Stalker film before I’d ever played them. I only read the novella “Roadside Picnic” on which both were based on last year. I had unknowingly written something like Roadside Picnic or Stalker when I was researching the Exclusion Zone in Ukraine back in ’05. So the films, games and novella are very close to my heart. I sometimes dream I am a stalker either in the Zone, or waiting to go back. I’ve woken in a cold sweat, praying I don’t have to return to the Zone. So dressing up with a friend and drinking vodka/eating diet sausage at an anime convention may be a way to stop the weird dreams.

5 thoughts on “Cumming out of retirement

  1. “I can’t wait to have a possible threeway TCP handshake jerkoff with ripped nerds.”

    Video or didn’t happen.

    Huge demand for IT jobs, always, everywhere. The company I work for offers referral bonuses (you get paid if you refer someone for a job and they end up hiring that person). The bonus for successfully referring an IT admin or engineer is double the standard bonus. When that was announced, I got pretty much every IT person from my previous job to apply. Unfortunately none of them got the job. But I’ll keep trying.

    Cycling is the wave of the future in commuting anyway. Sounds great.

    Diet sausage, OTOH, not so great.

      1. Museum to Ireland’s heavy industry. One day there will be museums like that in USA. As of now they’re just abandoned factory ruins.

Leave a Reply

