Dead friends and CAT6

Our accounts guy sliced open his finger with a pen knife i gave him. Simply opening a box. And I was the only engineer in. So he’s pumping blood all over the keyboard and mouse, then the kitchen walls and plates and dishes.
I don’t even fucking know he did it. He used to work in a butchers.

So I give him first aid while trying to get two mail servers back up. Get a plaster on it. He cleans up with blood which has dripped over the counters and even on the walls. Then he tries typing before it stops bleeding, and the plaster falls off. His table is covered in blood. I thought at the time he was very concerned about getting a quote in, but it must have been adrenaline confusing him. He kept working despite bleeding everywhere.

And the cycle starts again until I sit him down, put pressure on it, elevate it, and bandage it. All while I’m on a call on my headset. Kind of crazy day. Back out to the galvanizing factory tomorrow.

Getting into the whole networking thing as I learn more. The wireless networking exam hammered home for me how much I prefer networks and computer architecture to development.  And the exams are over now. Just waiting to see if they’ll grant me a deferral because the back and neck were at me when projects were due.

A friend from my Law class in college killed themselves last Friday. They had recently been posting about how they had struggled with depression. Real fucking shame, he’d been working in a law firm and had finished his Masters. Had thicktightsolid quads from all the road cycling he did. Just awful. I never got in touch with him once we left college 3 years ago, but had always meant to meet again. Ain’t happening now. It feels like the black death creeping over your extended network – some people getting sick and recovering, some dead forever. So sorry for his parents and close friends. RIP Podge.

That kind of hit me for six all weekend. Things are OK at the moment. But getting some angst about sexuality and gender identity. Probably connected to his death. Also because Ireland is having a referendum on same sex marriage this Friday, all that teenage stuff is coming back up. The gender or sexuality stuff tends to crop up every few months, then dies back down. Bit intense Monday Tuesday. OK today.

Girlfriend got an offer of a job in Bath, England. So I think after his death I really have to hit the road and get on with life.

Back benching babby DBs at 10kg x10. It’s something.

3 thoughts on “Dead friends and CAT6

  1. One of my friends attempted suicide but didn’t die. It feels weird, none of my friends as far as I know has died yet. Except one vaguely acquainted with kid from my middle school class died, saw it in the newspaper, drowned. No suicides either. But then again I don’t got Facebook, and pretty much have no friends now. So whatever.

    Don’t call it a comeback…

Leave a Reply

