Hero of the Hour

Starting to settle into the UK now. Feel like I made the right decision to come over. Things are good. Lot of my initial worries relieved. Having lived with the woman for 3 weeks, it’s been great. Relatively painless. I am glad we kept it together this long. It only took 8 years to move in together.

Projects are all successfully in  – the Ruby on Rails project is a pass, which is great. Had to put it back from the Monday last week to the Friday, as I started my new job last week. I was also hoping to get internet in the house, and not have to present in a YMCA reception. But in the end, I was able to demo it. Got asked some tough questions on it, but all the time I spent re-learning and debugging helped me answer these. Nevertheless, it’s basic. I do want to go back and develop more stuff, because I don’t want to be stuck doing helpdesk crap for 2+ years. You can see it here:

https://warm-peak-5259.herokuapp.com/

Don’t think Ruby or Rails are bad languages or frameworks, just that Rails is hard to work with. It’s undoubtedly quick and powerful if you follow the cookbook. The server-side development project at least ties in with the web development I’m doing for the new workplace. At the moment, it’s just HTML, CSS and javascript. But good that they want to train me in it. Starting new elements of their website this coming Monday.

The Android project for my final dissertation ended up being basic, but at least I had tested it with accountants and gotten their feedback. And the features all worked. But presenting it over Skype in that same YMCA was pretty shit. I hated being seperated from my development environment, and getting everything set up and configured was a real pain. This was particularly hard on slow, weak unsecured wifi, on a 5 year old laptop. Ended up having to hack together a solution to get the Android emulator working on the dated iGPU – this has fucked the video a bit, but it’s fine. It’s over now.

Results for that will be coming in September, I think. Maybe October. If I end up being failed on the Android project, I don’t think I will be able to pass by compensation, and I have to repeat it next year. Which would suck. But to be honest, so much has changed in these last 12 months, I may not be in a position to do this.

Got some major props from the woman for being able to keep it together during this study, new job, moving and support her. That’s good.

She got me a book of Eastern European recipes that has produced real winnners.

Job is OK – 2 days a week web development. 3 days in a architects studio supporting 100 users. Fucked a switch and cabling at 5 pm Friday when I was due to leave for woman’s birthday. Stayed until 6.20 fixing it. Probably be fine.

4 thoughts on “Hero of the Hour

Leave a Reply

