Good food and good friends

Well, she’s gone to China for the month. It’ll be cool. Saying goodbye is always hard, but it’ll be fun. Living together isn’t without its irritations, but life is so much better together.

She got me a big book of Ukrainian/Moldovan/Russian/Uzbek recipes, and we cooked our way through some of them.  The author posts some online, and they are very delicious. Better than the sour and underseasoned stuff I was making before. But I put that down to the woman’s ability. Some samples of the recipes here:

http://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2015/may/17/delicious-recipes-ukraine-and-beyond-borshch-stuffed-cabbage-olia-hercules

Before she went, she made some excellent food and froze it. About 13 servings of lamb stew, stroganoff and a lasagna. Her rice is really amazing. Within an hour of her going, I was eating couscous out of a mug. It’s going to be hard.

Guess it’s only a month, and she’ll be bringing back good tea, and an invite to come back next year to her friend’s hometown.

Focussing on the positives:

Started running 2 miles to work and back with a colleague. Has about 200ft hills either side of the run, so it’s a reasonable workout. Awkward to run with a backpack, but fuck it. We do it in about 16 mins, which isn’t bad considering I haven’t run in 10 years.

Used to be a mediocre runner, but a county champion in high school for long jump. Might join a gym here with work people, but not sure if I want to spent £25 a month on it for a year. Might be better for the social gains though.

Lots of blacksmiths here in Bath. One right opposite my workplace. Going to see if I can get a little bit of instruction, because blacksmithing is really fun. Or do a metalwork course, or woodworking. Anything is better than sitting inside at a computer, which is what I default to without the woman.

Ordered some more Gundam models after the last 3 months waiting debacle. The MG Ball and HG Hygogg. Doing panel lining on my RG 0079 Gundam. Waiting for those should make this month a little more exciting.

It’ll be fine.

3 thoughts on “Good food and good friends

    1. I have always sucked at salting, so when I was cooking for my house, I picked up regular MSG. Some Chinese friends called it “the delicious” when they added it to cooking.

      I don’t see the harm in using it, but the woman says it’s a crutch. She doesn’t like it. I don’t really understand salting and stock like her yet, so might have to up my game.

Leave a Reply

