TechnoBible

https://www.bibledesignblog.com/blog/2017/01/waterproof-bible-bardin-marsee-nkjv.html

^This is tight. I only found out about as the Falcon (aka the woman) came 5th in a short story competition, and one of the prizes is 3 notebooks from the company who makes these. I am not sure if I’d use a waterproof notebook, but a waterproof bible on crisp, tough paper sounds better. Good for a canoeing trip that’s coming up… I guess. The comments are great, you think to yourself: “who would ever need this?”, but it’s such a great use of the technology.  Might ask for one instead of a notebook.

Brief updates by section of the triangle:

Work/Skills

Passed the driving test last Friday with a single minor flaw. Very pleased to have it in the bag now. Have to upgrade my license to the real deal this week. And for 2 more years I’m a “Novice” and need to drive around with N plates up.

We got Pluralsight in work, so I can restart my CCNA study with the driving done.

Starting to look at mortgages to buy a house.

Social

Skirmish campaigns in work are going well, our terrain is mostly built, but yet to be finished. The campaign started for realz yesterday. Fun had by all.

A narrative skirmish game is starting up soon, my dudes are Byzantine Orthodox cyborgs allies of convenience to a Dionysian mystery machine cult. Think robed priests and technosatyrs.

 

Health

Back running trying to get my mile time down. Calves are less tight. Trying get the Falcon out walking multiple hours and over hills with a pack to prepare her for Alps or Alsace. Planning a 5 day canoe trip in August.

Going back to the gym tonight. IT as a career definitely has a lifting requirement and I’m losing the battle against atrophy. Probably be a x2 weekly as Celiaxx suggests.

Rode a mechanical bull for 51 seconds, which put me in the top 20%. This is way harder than it looks, and I have a renewed respect for rodeo.

3 thoughts on “TechnoBible

  1. Waterproof Bibles look like a good idea if faced with the threat of drowning.

    Regarding waterproof notebooks, can you use regular ink to write in them?

    Props on the driving and the bull. I’ve never seen one stay on the latter for more than 4 seconds, so I’d say you have a bright future in the sport.

  2. Good job on driving.
    I think in army we had waterproof notebooks but I’m not sure bc i also remember putting them in Ziploc bags anyhow.
    Also thought i made a post on riding mechanical bulls with this skank named Brittany. I remember the operator set it to “jiggle girl provocatively” when she rode it and then “fuck up drunk army asshole” when i rode it. I don’t think i did as good as you did. Iirc i did not get embarrassingly ejected immediately but did end up like injuring self or ripping clothing.

  3. Perhaps they set it to “IT worker/European” intensity to start – it got more intense at 30 seconds, and again at 50.
    Later when we were all more drunk, he punched it straight to max power. Consistent with Fatman’s experience, I only got about 4 -5 seconds at “Texan”.

Leave a Reply

