Building lactose tolerance

I’ve been trying to increase my lactose tolerance over the last month. It hasn’t made me a better runner (lactate) or ruined my shirts (lactation), but it has made living in a country that serves milk/cheese/cream with or in everything easier.

Previously I wasn’t able to tolerate more than a teaspoon of milk since about 2014, but I decided having such a low tolerance was impacting my life when food in Ireland is a minefield for it. I started with a teaspoon of yogurt after dinner for two weeks. Then added milk to my tea in the same day. There were a few false starts where I exceeded the threshold and suffered (today is one of those days), but I am now having a small amount of milk over cereal on an empty stomach. Which is a big improvement!

However, I haven’t felt great – I get pretty bad gas if I over do it, even if I don’t feel sick immediately. So I would like to keep some of this lactose tolerance up rather than being at the mercy of the world.

Another concern for me is adequate calcium in my 20s – I’d eat about 80g of cheese a day, along with fortified bread and nuts. I stopped drinking nut milks in the last few months (heh). Don’t wanna end up all scrunched in my 50s and 60s. Never broken a bone jumping off stuff so assume I’m OK.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Building lactose tolerance

  1. I also am lactose intolerant but found that as long as i don’t go mad (pun) i can tolerate moderate doses like say if i run out of almond milk can use a cup of real milk and everything is ok.

    1. is that the lactose-free milk? I’ll drink it but it doesn’t taste good. it’s fine to go in my coffee (my FIL is also LI) and Coach Jr seems to be the main consumer of the stuff when he’s over there

      1. Nah, it’s a pill that is supposed to break down lactose or something.

        I’m not lactose intolerant but I don’t drink milk much. But I eat cheese and yogurt in large quantities. Depending on how bad your LI is, you may be able to get away with having some half & half in coffee.

Leave a Reply

